AAA & AA Spring Hockey hockey training Hockey Development

​​​​​EST  2011


A Tribute to Uncle Pauly, Grandpa Pete and the 94' NWB

The New Western Bruins Spring Hockey Team was established in 2003.  After Paul, a parent, with the  help from Peter Stecher decided to form their own team.  Originally the Vancouver Ice, the name was officially changed to the New Western Bruins in 2004.

The New Western Bruins were based out of Vancouver and were playing elite AAA hockey in Vancouver and the surrounding areas. Playing at the AAA level Paul and Peter quickly learned that they would need more elite talent stay competitive and decided to reach out to the Okanagan, Alberta and the US.

Tournaments Won

  • Challenge Cup Tournament (Three times)
  • Ronald McDonald Spring Tournament (only Western team to win)
  • Nike Bauer Tournament (Twice)
  • Calgary Stampede Tournament

Bruins Alumni

Pro Draft Picks & NHL Players
  • Troy Stecher - Vancouver Canucks 
  • Morgan Reilly – Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Seth Jones – Nashville Predators
  • Griffin Reinhart – Edmonton Oil Kings, New York Islanders
  • Oscar Dancs – Brynus Sweden, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • Michel Winther – Calgary Hitmen, Dallas Stars
  • Hunter Shinkaruk – Medicine Hat Tigers, Vancouver Canucks
College NCAA Division 1
  • Troy Stecher – North Dakota
  • Evan Richardson – Boston College
  • Morgan Zulinick – Wisconsin Badgers
  • Quinton Shore – Denver University
  • Bryce Eviston-- Trinity University
Western Hockey League
  • Matt Bellervie – Kamloops Blazers
  • Austin Vettrill – Kootenay Ice
  • Trent Lofthouse – Vancouver Giants
  • Carter Rigby – Kelowna Rockets
  • Cole Martin – Kelowna Rockets
  • Mitch Fyffe – Surrey Eagles
  • Stephan Burzan – Okotoks Oilers
  • Tyler Read – Ridge Meadows Flames

Moving Forward 

  • New Western Bruins has progressed to 8-10 Spring teams yearly and become a full on and off ice Hockey Development company "NWB Hockey Development" 
  • We thank Uncle Pauly, Pete & Lofty for starting such a proud tradition of excellence.